Gluten Free / Celiac Diet


Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale, malt and some oats. A gluten-free diet is used to treat Celiac Disease and may be considered in patients thought to have a gluten sensitivity or diarrhea predominant irritable bowel syndrome. A gluten-free diet helps control signs and symptoms and prevent long-term complications; it is the only treatment for Celiac Disease.


Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley
  • Malt (including malt flavoring and malt vinegar)
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat (all types of wheat including whole, bromated, enriched, phosphate, self-rishing)
  • Alternate forms of wheat
    • Bulgur
    • Durum
    • Farina
    • Graham
    • Kamut
    • Semolina
    • Spelt

*Speak with your doctor or dietitian to determine if you need to avoid oats.


Unless specifically labeled ‘gluten-free’, avoid:

  • Beer
  • Bread and bread products like croutons, crackers and matzo
  • Baked goods like cake, cookies, cupcakes, muffins, scones, doughnuts and pie
  • Cereal
  • Oats (if permitted per your doctor or dietitian)
  • Pasta
  • Soup and soup-bases
  • Soy sauce


Read ingredients and/or speak with servers to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients have been used:

  • Candy
  • Deep-fried foods, even if non-gluten based like French fries and tortilla chips
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Processed deli meats
  • Salad dressings, sauces and gravies
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods like potato chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Any gluten-free food that has been contaminated
    • Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. It can happen during the manufacturing process or during food preparation at home or in a restaurant. It is important to read labels and handle foods carefully. Always speak with servers about your dietary restrictions when dining out.

*In addition to foods and beverages that may contain gluten, check that all vitamins and medications are gluten free by reading bottles, speaking to your pharmacist or calling companies directly.


Allowed foods:

  • Fresh, unprocessed foods like beans, meat, poultry, fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and nuts
  • Most dairy products
  • Gluten-free grains & flours
    • Amaranth
    • Arrowroot
    • Buckwheat
    • Corn and cornmeal
    • Flax
    • Hominy (corn)
    • Millet
    • Potato
    • Quinoa
    • Rice
    • Sorghum
    • Soy
    • Tapioca
    • Teff

Switching to a gluten-free diet can be challenging but there are many substitutes and resources.

Download/Print PDF

Eric Morgenstern, MD PLLC